Receipt capture · Australia
Dext vs Hubdoc, now that Xero has its own capture
Xero's Australian Hubdoc page now redirects to Xero's own Smart Document Capture, which Xero says is available on all its small business plans at no extra cost (xero.com/au, read 4 October 2026). Hubdoc is still sold on its own at $15 AUD a month after a 30-day trial on its Australian site, and Dext's Australian business plan starts at $33.58 a month excluding GST, billed annually as $403, for 250 documents and 5 users (both read 4 October 2026). A Xero business with a few receipts a month may need neither paid tool. Dext is the one of the three that also connects to Sage, FreeAgent and other packages beyond Xero and QuickBooks, and that prices for higher volumes and more users.
Refer Labs may earn a commission if you sign up or buy through the links on this page, including to Dext, at no extra cost to you. Refer Labs earns from Dext only. Hubdoc and Xero are included because a Xero user is choosing between all three, and other capture tools exist.
Dext
Capture for higher volumes, multiple users, or books kept outside Xero.
- 250 documents and 5 users a month on the entry business plan
- Connects to Xero, QuickBooks, Sage and FreeAgent among 36+ integrations
- Supplier, bank and line-item statement extraction sold as add-ons
No Refer Labs code. Refer Labs earns a commission if you sign up through this link.
Continue to DextHubdoc
A standalone capture tool for Xero or QuickBooks Online.
- Snap, upload, email-forward or scan bills and receipts
- Syncs to Xero and QuickBooks Online
- Unlimited usage listed on its pricing page
No Refer Labs code. Refer Labs does not earn from Hubdoc; this link opens Hubdoc's own pricing page.
See Hubdoc's pricingXero capture
Already on Xero, with a modest pile of receipts and bills.
- Smart Document Capture, inside Xero's Documents area
- No extra charge on Xero small business plans
- Works with Xero only
No Refer Labs code. Refer Labs does not earn from Xero; this link opens Xero's own page.
See Xero's capture pageIs Hubdoc still free with Xero?
Xero's own pages have stopped saying it. Its Australian Hubdoc address forwards, in two hops, to the Smart Document Capture page; its pricing page lists Smart Document Capture on every plan and does not name Hubdoc; and hubdoc.com/xero lands on the same Xero page (all read 4 October 2026). Hubdoc's own site sells the product at $15 AUD a month. Dext's comparison page still describes Hubdoc as included with Xero plans. None of these pages says whether a current Xero subscriber keeps Hubdoc at no charge, so ask Xero before you plan around it.
What Xero does document is its replacement. The 2 July 2026 post called the Australian rollout a beta, listed itemised multi-line extraction as available and GST extraction as next. The 18 September post lists automatic tax extraction as new. The pricing page read on 4 October 2026 shows "basic extraction" marked Beta on Ignite and Grow, and Smart Document Capture without that label from Comprehensive up.
What does each include?
| Read 4 October 2026 | Dext | Hubdoc | Xero capture |
|---|---|---|---|
| Priceread 4 October 2026 | From $33.58/month, AUD excl GST, billed annually as $403 | $15 AUD/month after the trial; GST basis not printed | No extra cost on Xero small business plans |
| Trial | 14 days, no card details | 30 days, no credit card | Part of a Xero subscription |
| Allowance | 250 documents/month, 5 users; past the limit, uploads wait for the next bill date to be read | Unlimited usage, multiple collaborators | Basic extraction (Beta) on Ignite and Grow; Smart Document Capture from Comprehensive |
| Line itemsread 4 October 2026 | Add-on from $28.50/month or $0.70/document; 5 included | Not stated on the pricing page | Itemised multi-line extraction listed as available (2 Jul 2026) |
| Tax (GST) extraction | Tax amounts listed among extracted fields | Not stated on the pricing page | Automatic tax extraction listed as new (18 Sep 2026) |
| Accounting software | Xero, QuickBooks, Sage, FreeAgent and 36+ in all | Xero, QuickBooks Online | Xero only |
Choose Dext if
- Your books are in QuickBooks, Sage or FreeAgent, or your accountant runs several packages.
- You process hundreds of documents a month and want supplier and bank statement extraction too.
- Several people submit receipts and you need approvals before anything reaches the ledger.
Choose Hubdoc or Xero capture if
- You are on Xero and capture a modest number of bills and receipts each month.
- Paying for a separate tool is hard to justify while Xero includes capture in the plan.
- You are on QuickBooks Online and want a flat monthly price with unlimited usage (Hubdoc).
Dext, Hubdoc and Xero capture: common questions
Is Hubdoc still free with Xero?
Xero's own Australian pages no longer say so. xero.com/au/accounting-software/hubdoc/ redirects to Xero's Smart Document Capture page, Xero's Australian pricing page lists Smart Document Capture on each plan without naming Hubdoc, and hubdoc.com/xero redirects to the same Xero page (all read 4 October 2026). Dext's own comparison page still says Hubdoc is included with Xero plans. Whether an existing Xero subscriber keeps Hubdoc at no charge is not stated on any of these pages, so confirm it with Xero.
How much does Dext cost in Australia?
Dext's entry business plan is $33.58 a month in AUD excluding GST, billed annually as $403, for 250 documents a month and 5 users (dext.com/au/business/pricing, read 4 October 2026). Larger allowances cost more on a slider. Dext says annual billing is up to 20% cheaper than monthly, and its free trial needs no card details.
How much does Hubdoc cost on its own?
Hubdoc's Australian site prices it at $15 AUD a month after a 30-day free trial that needs no credit card (hubdoc.com/pricing with the Australia region selected, read 4 October 2026). The page does not say whether the figure includes GST. With the USA region selected the same page shows US$12.
Does Xero's own capture read GST?
Xero's 2 July 2026 post described the Australian rollout as a beta and listed tax extraction, including GST, as coming next. Its 18 September 2026 post, which renamed Files to Documents, lists automatic tax extraction among what is new. Xero's Australian pricing page (read 4 October 2026) still marks the basic extraction on its Ignite and Grow plans as Beta.
Does Dext extract line items?
Dext's comparison page says it reads every line item. Its Australian pricing page sells Line Item Extraction as an add-on from $28.50 a month, or pay as you go from $0.70 a document, with 5 line-item documents included on the plan (read 4 October 2026). Check which applies to your volume during the trial.
Which of the three pays Refer Labs?
Only Dext. A sign-up through our Dext links pays Refer Labs a commission; the Hubdoc and Xero links are plain links to those companies' own pages and pay nothing.
Try it on your own receipts
Extraction quality is easiest to judge on your own documents. Dext and Hubdoc both offer a trial without a card, and Xero's capture is already in your plan if you use Xero. Figures above are dated 4 October 2026.
Dext
Capture for higher volumes, multiple users, or books kept outside Xero.
- 250 documents and 5 users a month on the entry business plan
- Connects to Xero, QuickBooks, Sage and FreeAgent among 36+ integrations
- Supplier, bank and line-item statement extraction sold as add-ons
No Refer Labs code. Refer Labs earns a commission if you sign up through this link.
Continue to DextHubdoc
A standalone capture tool for Xero or QuickBooks Online.
- Snap, upload, email-forward or scan bills and receipts
- Syncs to Xero and QuickBooks Online
- Unlimited usage listed on its pricing page
No Refer Labs code. Refer Labs does not earn from Hubdoc; this link opens Hubdoc's own pricing page.
See Hubdoc's pricingXero capture
Already on Xero, with a modest pile of receipts and bills.
- Smart Document Capture, inside Xero's Documents area
- No extra charge on Xero small business plans
- Works with Xero only
No Refer Labs code. Refer Labs does not earn from Xero; this link opens Xero's own page.
See Xero's capture pageSources
Each page below is the vendor's own, read on 4 October 2026. Prices are shown in the currency and on the tax basis each vendor prints, and are not converted or added together.
- Xero Australian Hubdoc address (redirects to Smart Document Capture): www.xero.com/au/accounting-software/hubdoc/, read 4 October 2026
- Xero Smart Document Capture page and FAQ: www.xero.com/au/accounting-software/store-files/, read 4 October 2026
- Xero Australian plans: www.xero.com/au/pricing-plans/, read 4 October 2026
- Xero blog, 2 July 2026: blog.xero.com/product-updates/smart-document-capture/, read 4 October 2026
- Xero blog, 18 September 2026: blog.xero.com/product-updates/files-now-called-documents/, read 4 October 2026
- Hubdoc pricing (Australia region): www.hubdoc.com/pricing, read 4 October 2026
- Dext Australian business pricing: dext.com/au/business/pricing, read 4 October 2026
- Dext's own Dext vs Hubdoc page: dext.com/au/resources/compare/dext-vs-hubdoc, read 4 October 2026
Editor Jarred, FounderLast updated How we compareHow we make money
Refer Labs is an independent Australian comparison publisher.
Some links on this page are affiliate links, including to Dext. If you sign up or buy through one, Refer Labs may earn a commission at no extra cost to you, and it never changes a comparison or a conclusion.